JUNO winner Tona releases the 15-track July 26th album

JUNO Award-winner Tona recently released his highly anticipated album, July 26th.

Featuring singles “Links,” the Bishop Brigante-assisted “Money,” and the Kayo-assisted “Way Up,” the 15-track July 26th also includes guest appearances by Skripture of The Truth Movement (“Trapper”) and Tanisha (“Everything is Golden”).

The album was mostly produced by longtime Tona collaborator, Memorecks.


Tona and Bishop Brigante teamed up for the July 26th album

Scarborough’s own Tona & Bishop Brigante (Photo: Instagram)

While we’ve been covering the July 26th campaign since “Links” was released back in January, we wondered if Tona would push the album’s release back in light of the social climate and ongoing protests in support of the Black Lives Matter movement. He addressed the decision to stick to his original plan with a post on social media:

“Complete transparency, I haven’t been as enthused as I would like to be, simply because I know the morale of my people has felt defeated,” Tona explained. “But fuck that, after being the most demoralized, we just happen to be the most resilient. Can’t break our spirits, so I want to deliver this album in hopes of continuing that energy.”


Tona and Bishop Brigante teamed up for the July 26th album

Tona in St. Lucia for the “Way Up” video (Photo: Instagram)

To date, Tona has released several videos in support of the new album including the ShotbyDrew-directed visual for “Links,” the animated gem “Money,” and the Loggo Lionel-powered “Way Up” which dropped at the end of May. The most recent is the Joe Cappa for Cappa Productions-powered animated “No Way (Interlude)” which Tona premiered on Instagram.

You can find July 26th on various digital streaming platforms including Apple Music and Spotify via District Entertainment.

Check it out below.

Tona enlists Kayo, Bishop Brigante and more for July 26th album

You can follow @BigTona on Instagram.