Laura Marling Releases New Single From Forthcoming Album Song For Our Daughter, Out This Week

Last night, Laura Marling announced that her forthcoming album, Song For Our Daughter, will drop this Friday, April 10 via Partisan/Chrysalis. The British singer/songwriter also released a highlight from the album, “Held Down,” and pinned a cathartic letter to her Twitter about her decision to release the album months ahead of schedule:

Marling produced much of this project, along with longtime collaborators Ethan Johns and Dom Monks. The album is a transitional piece for Marling, as she’s stepped away from her record label and management. Marling is crafting a new path for herself—she co-released an electronic album as LUMP in 2018 and she’s now pursuing a master’s degree in Psychoanalysis. Judging from her letter, Song For Our Daughter will be a reflection of Marling’s experiences, and this COVID-19 outbreak definitely heightened the urgency of this album release.

Listen to Marling’s honest outcry for stability and certainty in “Held Down” from Song For Our Daughter, and view the album artwork and tracklist below.

Song For Our Daughter Album Artwork:


Song For Our Daughter Album Tracklist:

01. Alexandra
02. Held Down
03. Strange Girl
04. Only The Strong
05. Blow By Blow
06. Song For Our Daughter
07. Fortune
08. The End Of The Affair
09. Hope We Meet Again
10. For You