Floating Points announces new album ‘Crush’, shares hypnotic music video

English musician and neuroscientist Floating Points has announced his sophomore album ‘Crush’ due out October 18th on veteran electronic label Ninja Tune following the release the “LesAlpx” a few months back.

Floating Points, real name Sam Shepard created the album over just five weeks when touring with The xx and was inspired by the improvisation during his sets, as you do!

He joins a growing list new albums due out from the who’s who electronica with Tourist, M83, Four Tet and Lido all announcing their own full-length records.

Along with the album announce comes a music video for another new cut dubbed “Last Bloom” – a driving and itchy track that bubbles and drips in a wash analog and crashing sounds.

The music video was filmed by Hamill Industries who explained the clash organic props and synthesised effects;

Filmed over thirty days, Last Bloom takes us through a mesmerizing journey that highlights the juxtaposition textures so central to Floating Points’ compositions, with emphasis on its ties with nature. Several scale models were built in order to explore these otherworldly landscapes, and a 5 axis robot arm was used to travel around them. Different lenses, including a macro probe lens, were used in order to reveal the complexity these scale worlds. Most the effects were achieved in-camera by using lasers, motion controls and computer controlled LED lighting. The timelapses seen throughout the film were shot in some cases over several days with the use programmed rigs.

Watch and listen to the music video and check out the ‘Crush’ tracklisting below;

01 “Falaise”
02 “Last Bloom”
03 “Anasickmodular”
04 “Requiem for CS70 and Strings”
05 “Karakul”
06 “LesAlpx”
07 “Bias”
08 “Environments”
09 “Birth”
10 “Sea-Watch”
11 “Apoptose Pt1″
12 “Apoptose Pt2″

Floating Points’ sophomore album ‘Crush’ is due out October 18th on Ninja Tune worldwide.