Pure X Announce First New Album in Six Years, Share Two Singles

Austin, Texas rockers Pure X have announced their first album in six years, a self-titled LP out digitally on May 1 and physically on July 3 via Fire Talk Records. Today, they’ve also shared its two lead singles “Middle America” and “Fantasy.” Pure X released their latest album in 2014 with Angel.

During their hiatus, Jesse Jenkins V released a solo album called Hard Sky in 2017, and the band spent time traveling and starting their families. Pure X quietly reformed in 2018, per a press release.

“Middle America” and “Fantasy” both tap into the languid, distorted sounds that fueled their rise, falling somewhere between warbled slowcore and dreamy heartland rock. Their album was recorded live in Texas Hill Country, and you can practically hear the sun-glazed flowers fluttering gently in the wind at dawn.

Listen to “Middle America” and “Fantasy” below, and preorder the album here. Scroll down to view their forthcoming album artwork and tracklist.

Pure X Album Artwork:


Pure X Tracklist:

01. Middle America
02. Hollywood
03. Angels of Love
04. Free My Heart
05. Making History
06. Fantasy
07. Man With No Head
08. How Good Does It Get
09. Slip Away
10. Grieving Song
11. Stayed Too Long
12. I Can Dream